In September 2012 we implemented the new statutory framework for Early Years learning, development and care.

The children are taught and assessed under the new sections of the EYFS, set out below:

Area of Learning and Development Aspect
Prime Areas
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Making relationships
Self-confidence and self-awareness
Managing feelings and behaviour
Physical Development Moving and handling
Health and self-care
Communication and Language Listening and attention
Specific areas
Literacy Reading
Mathematics Numbers
Shape, space and measure
Understanding the World People and communities
The world
Expressive Arts and Design Exploring and using media and materials
Being imaginative

At the end of the year an EYFS Profile is completed for each child.  Each child is assessed in relation to the 17 Early Learning Goal (ELG) descriptors.

For each ELG, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reached this level (emerging).

More information can be found at www.education.gov.uk/eyfs