What we cover

Our curriculum is based on the new National Curriculum that was published in September 2013.  We have developed a topic based approach to learning and a summary of the topics for this academic year can be seen in the table below.  Children are tested at the end of Year 2 and Year 6 using Standard Attainment Tests or SATs.   Alongside the national curriculum we also work hard to develop children’s learning skills so that children acquire lifelong learning skills and a love of learning.  Please see here  for more information regarding our learning skills curriculum.

Individual year group theme plans can be seen here.

All the children will have an English and Mathematics lesson every day as these are key aspects of learning.  The school uses the Read, Write, Inc scheme to teach phonics to all children in Key Stage 1and some children in key stage 2. Please see here for more information on Read, Write, Inc.

Our Early Years Foundation Stage

In September 2012 we implemented the new statutory framework for Early Years learning, development and care.

The children are taught and assessed under the new sections of the EYFS, set out below:

Area of Learning and Development Aspect
Prime Areas
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Making relationships
Self-confidence and self-awareness
Managing feelings and behaviour
Physical Development Moving and handling
Health and self-care
Communication and Language Listening and attention
Specific areas
Literacy Reading
Mathematics Numbers
Shape, space and measure
Understanding the World People and communities
The world
Expressive Arts and Design Exploring and using media and materials
Being imaginative

At the end of the year an EYFS Profile is completed for each child.  Each child is assessed in relation to the 17 Early Learning Goal (ELG) descriptors.

For each ELG, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reached this level (emerging).

More information can be found at www.education.gov.uk/eyfs